My First Day Volunteering


My friend Connor and I meeting Spatch.

Today was my first day of volunteering. All of the people are very nice and they are glad to accept any help that they can get. I helped set up all of the tables, the crates, and the things that they were going to sell. Then they brought the dogs in. This event was not a big one so, there were only a few dogs but, I did fall in love with a dog named Spatch. Spatch was a dog that was in and out of homes. He just could not find a home that could take care of all his needs! Spatch is a mix of different kinds of dogs. His mom was a Cocker Spaniel/Poodle and his dad was a Rottweiler/Boxer. He has long blond hair with a huge face that looks like a big, fuzzy bear (look in the picture above) and his back half is short blond hair.  He is the sweetest dog you will ever meet. He is shy at first but once he gets  to know you, he sits there and lets you pet him. I really wanted to take him home with me but then we found out that he is not good with male dogs and I have a male dog at home. I hope Spatch finds a good foster/real home with people who love him and care for him. Even though I can’t take Spatch home with me I certainly plan on visiting him in future volunteering events.

This entry was posted in Volunteering. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

